Banner image

Bears Women quartet named in England U20s squad

Lucie Skuse, Florence Long, Sophie Phillips and Delaney Burns have all been included in the England U20s squad for the upcoming year. 

Given the 2019/20 season focus for this age group is to develop players as individuals, the competition phase has been moved to the summer of 2020 to allow maximum development within and outside of international training camps.

The 24-player group, as well as those invited to join on a camp-by-camp basis, will take part in three-day training camps each month. 

Players will be able to combine their training within the national set-up alongside gaining valuable experience of regular domestic competitive rugby through the Tyrrells Premier 15s and BUCS [university] leagues.

Former England international and RFU Performance Pathway Officer Amy Turner will lead the programme. 

Turner said: “We’ve selected a squad with the intent of player development over the course of the season.

“All players are aged between 17 and 20 so we have a real range, depth and breadth of talent.

“The majority of the group are linked to Tyrrells Premier 15s clubs which allows us to continue working together with those in the domestic game.”

England Under-20s 2019/20 squad: 

Iona Antwis [Loughborough Lightning/Loughborough University], Delaney Burns [Bristol Bears Women], Cara Clarke [Worcester Warriors Women/University of Birmingham], Kelsey Clifford [Saracens Women], Jessica Cooksey [Darlington Mowden Park Sharks/Durham University], Tabitha Copson [Gloucester-Hartpury Women/Hartpury University], Eleanor Febrey [Gloucester-Hartpury Women], Bryony Field [Loughborough Lightning/Loughborough University], Emma Hardy [Loughborough Lightning/Loughborough University], Amelia Harper [Loughborough Lightning/Loughborough University], Sadia Kabeya [Richmond FC], Florence Long [Bristol Bears Women/SGS Filton College], Alicia Maude [Gloucester-Hartpury Women/Hartpury College], Fiona McIntosh [Richmond FC/St Georges, University of London] , Maud Muir [Wasps FC Ladies/Brunel University], Sophie Phillips [Bristol Bears Women], Connie Powell [Gloucester-Hartpury Women/Hartpury College], Ellen Ramsbotton [Loughborough Lightning/Loughborough College], Anya Richmond [Loughborough Lightning/Loughborough College], Flo Robinson [Pulborough], Caitlin Simpson [Darlington Mowden Park Sharks/Northumbria University], Emma Sing [Gloucester-Hartpury Women/Hartpury College], Lucie Skuse [Bristol Bears Women], Mia Venner [Gloucester-Hartpury Women/Hartpury College]