Banner image

Bristol Rugby Confirm Departing Players

Bristol Rugby have confirmed their squad for the 2017/18 season, as Pat Lam takes the helm as incoming Head Coach.

Lam brings Conor McPhillips (Assistant Coach) and Paul Bunce (Head of Performance) with him from Connacht, while Bruce Reihana (Skills) arrives from Bordeaux.

Bristol welcome eighteen new players into the fold, including All Black Steven Luatua, Ireland international Ian Madigan, Australian international Luke Morahan and Samoan internationals Chris Vui and Alapati Leiua.

Samoan international Jack Lam and Tongan captain Siale Piutau are among Bristol’s high-profile re-signings ahead of the new campaign.

All Black back rower Steven Luatua has put pen to paper to join Bristol Rugby in 2017/18 (via Getty Images)

Jason Woodward remains contracted to Bristol Rugby, with a decision made on the full-back’s future following the conclusion of the Championship play-offs.

“We’re excited about the squad that Pat Lam has assembled for the new season – there’s a great balance of youth and international experience, with plenty of attacking flair,” Head Coach Mark Tainton said.

“There’s depth in every position, complemented by a strong Academy. We’re confident that we have recruited well, bringing in guys that are hungry to achieve success for Bristol but also share and understand the values of Pat and his coaching team.

Mitch Eadie will join Northampton Saints, having made his Bristol debut during the 2010/11 season (via JMPUK)

“To the players that are leaving us at the end of the season, we’re grateful for the commitment they have shown to the blue and white hoops and we wish them the very best for the future.”

2017/18 FIRST TEAM SQUAD (Italics denote new arrivals)


Ryan Bevington

Gaston Cortes

Soane Tonga’uiha

Jack O’Connell

Anthony Perenise

Sione Faletau (Yorkshire Carnegie)

Jack Cosgrove (Edinburgh)

Max Crumpton

Ross McMillan

Jason Harris-Wright (Clontarf)

Dan Tuohy

Giorgi Nemsadze

James Phillips

Joe Joyce

Joe Batley (Gloucester)

Joe Latta (Gloucester)

Nick Fenton-Wells

Jordan Crane

Jack Lam

Olly Robinson

Nick Haining (Jersey Reds)

Chris Vui (Worcester Warriors)

Steven Luatua (Blues)

Dan Thomas (Gloucester)


Rhodri Williams

Reiss Cullen (Watsonians)

Ian Madigan (Bordeaux)

Callum Sheedy

Tusi Pisi

Will Hurrell

Jack Tovey

Siale Piutau

Thretton Palamo

Alapati Leiua (Wasps)

David Lemi

Tom Varndell

Ryan Edwards

Jordan Williams

Jack Wallace

Luke Morahan (Western Force)

Mat Protheroe (Gloucester)

2017/18 ACADEMY SQUAD (Italics denote new arrivals)

Tyler Gendall (Harlequins)

Ollie Dawe

Tom Rowland

Jordon Liney

Nick Freeman

Ehize Ehizode (Wasps)

John Hawkins

James Dun

Sam Jeffries

Jack Capon

Dan Thurston

Andy Uren

Billy Searle

Sam Bedlow (Sale Sharks)

James Newey

Matt Welsh

George Perkins (Saracens)

Iwan Hughes

Tom Hargan



James Hall

Chris Brooker

Ben Glynn

BJ Edwards

Alby Mathewson

Shane Geraghty

Nick Carpenter

Kyle Traynor

Jamal Ford-Robinson

Rob Hawkins

Jon Fisher

Marc Jones

Mark Sorenson

Will Cliff

Ian Evans

Gavin Henson

Nick Koster

Mitch Eadie

Martin Roberts

Adrian Jarvis

Ben Mosses

Charlie Amesbury

Luke Arscott

Alec Clarey

Elias Caven