Banner image

Dawe Helps England U20 To Six Nations Title

Academy prop Ollie Dawe played his part as England U20 sealed the 2017 Six Nations title with a 33-5 victory over Scotland at Franklin’s Gardens.

Dawe started at loosehead as England stormed to a bonus-point win to keep Grand Slam hopes alive.

The hosts were kept at bay in the opening stages of the match by a well-organised Scotland side but broke the deadlock through a try from second row Jack Nay after 20 minutes. 

Captain Zach Mercer then showed a moment of brilliance to set up scrum-half Harry Randall just before half-time. 

England had all the momentum in the second half with winger Dominic Morris capitalising on their dominance to sprint over in the corner.

CHAMPIONS: England U20 sing the national anthem ahead of Saturday's clash with Scotland at Franklin's Gardens (Photo: Getty).

Scotland responded straight away with a try of their own through Darcy Graham before Mercer scored after an error from Scotland's fly-half Josh Henderson, giving England the bonus point. 

Theo Brophy Clews made sure England finished the match in style when he stayed on the shoulder of Joe Cokanasiga, taking the offload to sprint over in the corner.  

England had to wait until the result of Wales U20s match against Ireland to find out if they had won the championship, with Wales's 41-27 win confirming England as the competition's winners. 

England U20: Tom Parton (London Irish), Joe Cokanasiga (London Irish), Max Wright (Yorkshire Carnegie), Will Butler (Worcester Warriors), Dominic Morris (Saracens), Max Malins (Saracens), Harry Randall (Gloucester Rugby); Ollie Dawe (Bristol Rugby), Curtis Langdon (Sale Sharks), Ciaran Knight (Gloucester Rugby), Josh Caulfield (Exeter Chiefs), Max Davies (Newcastle Falcons), Jack Nay (Saracens), Ben Curry (Sale Sharks), Zach Mercer (Bath Rugby) (c).

Replacements: Jamie Blamire (Newcastle Falcons), Ralph Adams-Hale (Saracens), Marcus Street (Exeter Chiefs), Ted Hill (Worcester Warriors), Josh Bayliss (Bath Rugby), Alex Mitchell (Northampton Saints), Theo Brophy Clews (London Irish), Jacob Umaga  (Wasps).