Banner image

Dawe To Start As England U20 Target Grand Slam

Ollie Dawe is set for a fifth successive start as England U20 aim for a Six Nations Grand Slam against Ireland at Donnybrook Stadium on Friday (6pm).

The Academy prop, who has started every game in this season’s Six Nations, is named at loosehead as England U20 look to sign off the tournament in style.

Sam Aspland-Robinson, Tom Curry and Nick Isiekwe return to the side after missing the 33-5 victory over Scotland last week while Gloucester hooker Henry Walker earns his first start.

18-year old Sale Sharks twins Tom and Ben Curry start together for the first time for England U20, taking their place in the back row alongside captain Zach Mercer. 

Worcester Warriors forwards Joseph Morris and Justin Clegg also return and are among the replacements.

"We have been working hard on making sure the players concentrate on how they perform and don’t focus too much on the occasion," said England U20 coach Ian Vass.

"It’s important we prepare ourselves mentally and physically like we have previously in the tournament and hopefully the result will take care of itself.

“Scotland was a stern test for us but we came through it positively and we know facing Ireland on St Patrick’s Day will be another massive challenge.”

The match, broadcast live on Sky Sports Mix, will see England aiming to win their first Six Nations Grand Slam since 2011 and is part of a double-header at Donnybrook with England Women also vying to secure the Grand Slam in their fixture against Ireland (8pm).  

England U20: Tom Parton (London Irish), Joe Cokanasiga (London Irish), Dominic Morris (Saracens), Will Butler (Worcester Warriors), Sam Aspland-Robinson (Harlequins), Max Malins (Saracens), Harry Randall (Gloucester Rugby); Ollie Dawe (Bristol Rugby), Henry Walker (Gloucester Rugby), Ciaran Knight (Gloucester Rugby), Jack Nay (Saracens), Nick Isiekwe (Saracens), Tom Curry (Sale Sharks), Ben Curry (Sale Sharks), Zach Mercer (Bath Rugby) (c).

Replacements: Jamie Blamire (Newcastle Falcons), Ralph Adams-Hale (Saracens), Joseph Morris (Worcester Warriors), Justin Clegg (Worcester Warriors), Josh Bayliss (Bath Rugby), Alex Mitchell (Northampton Saints), Theo Brophy Clews (London Irish), Max Wright (Yorkshire Carnegie).