Banner image


Will Carpenter


Posted Wednesday, May 8th 2019

English named in Wales U20 World Championship squad

Academy prop, Nick English has been named in the Wales U20 squad for next month’s World Rugby Junior Championship being staged in Argentina between June 4-22.

Head coach Gareth Williams has named his 28-man squad yesterday, which will be led by Ospreys hooker Dewi Lake who impressed during the Six Nations championship.

“It has proved a tough process coming to the final selection but we are really excited with the squad we are taking away to the Junior Championship. The wider group of players put a lot of pressure on the incumbents,” said Williams.

“It’s fantastic to be back in training with the players and building towards a physical group with Argentina, France and Fiji.”

Wales open their Pool A campaign against hosts Argentina on June 4th at the Racecourse Stadium in Rosario before taking on current world champions France at the same venue on June 8 before completing their pool matches against Fiji on June 12 at Club de Rugby Ateneo Inmaculada, Santa Fe.

Wales U20 Junior World Championship squad
Rhys Davies (Ospreys), Tom Devine (Dragons), Dewi Lake (Ospreys – Capt), Will Griffiths (Dragons), Garin Lloyd (Ospreys), Ben Warren (Cardiff Blues), Kemsley Mathias (Scarlets), Nick English (Bristol Bears), Jac Price (Scarlets), Morgan Jones (Scarlets), Teddy Williams (Cardiff Blues), Ed Scragg (Dragons), Lennon Greggains (Dragons), Jac Morgan (Scarlets/Aberavon), Tommy Reffell (Leicester Tigers), Iestyn Rees (Scarlets).
Harri Morgan (Ospreys), Dafydd Buckland (Dragons), Cai Evans (Ospreys), Sam Costelow (Leicester Tigers), Aneurin Owen (Dragons), Tiaan Thomas-Wheeler (Ospreys), Max Llewellyn (Cardiff Blues), Ryan Conbeer (Scarlets), Rio Dyer (Dragons), Deon Smith (Dragons), Ioan Davies (Cardiff Blues), Tomi Lewis (Scarlets).

Wales U20 fixtures
June 4: Wales U20s v Argentina U20s (KO 5pm BST)
June 8: Wales U20s v France U20s (KO 5pm BST)
June 12: Wales U20s v Fiji U20s (5pm BST)
Knockout stages on Monday, 17 June and finals day on Saturday, 22 June, live on ITV.