Banner image

Phoebe Murray to captain England Women U20's against Canada

Phoebe Murray has been selected to captain the side and five other Bristol Bears Women have been named to start against Canada. 

Murray has been named as captain for the first time by Jo Yapp and is to start at centre for the tomorrow night's game.  

Lagi Tuima will oversee the England U20 backline from full-back, whilst Lucy Attwood will play at inside-centre and speedster Lillian Steoger-Goddard starts on the wing. 

Ellie Mulhearn starts at tight-head prop and Hollie Cunningham completes the compliment of Bristol Bears Women as she is named in the second-row.

The match is available live online via Rugby Canada with kick off at 10.30pm BST in the first of a three-game tour for England Women U20.

Head coach Jo Yapp said: “We arrived in Canada on Monday and the squad have recovered well, acclimatising to the humidity and warm temperatures.

“This is a really exciting team with a mix of experienced players alongside some talented youngsters that are stepping up from the TDG for the first time. 

"We are really pleased with how the players have bonded as a squad in such a short space of time and adapted to the tour environment."

England Women U20 side to face Canada Women U20

15. Lagilagi  Tuima, 14. Abigail Dow, 13. Phoebe Murray©, 12. Lucy Attwood, 11. Lilian Stoeger-Goddard, 10. Zoe Harrison, 9. Brooke Bradley; 1. Ellena Perry , 2. Leah Bartlett, 3. Ellie Mulhearn, 4. Rosie Galligan, 5. Hollie Cunningham, 6. Amelia Harper, 7. Charlie Wilcock, 8. Sarah Beckett

Replacements: 16. Connie Powell, 17. Akina Gondwe, 18. Detysha Harper, 19. Rianna Manson, 20. Cara Brincat, 21. Ella Wyrwas, 22. Ellie Green, 23. Bethany Wilcock.

England Women U20 fixtures

Friday 10 August – Canada Women U20 v England Women U20, Acadia University (Wolfville), KO 10.30pm BST Tuesday 14 August – USA Women U20 v England Women U20, Acadia University (Wolfville), KO 10.30pm BST Saturday 18 August – Canada U20 v England Women U20, Wanderers Grounds (Halifax), KO 8.00pm BST