Banner image

REPORT: Bedford Blues 16-45 Bristol Rugby

Match Report

Sunday, May 1st 2016

The Championship

Bedford Blues 16 - 45 Bristol Rugby*

HT 10-20

Clare Tries McMillan, Robinson, Phillips (2), Tovey, Wallace
Sharp Conversions Sheedy (3)
Sharp (3) Penalties Sheedy (3)

KO: 3:15PM

Att: 2662

Venue: Goldington Road

Ref: Luke Pearce


Bedford Blues

  • 1 Camilo E. Parilli-Ocampo
  • 2 Charles William Bernard Clare
  • 3 Philip Matthew J. Boulton
  • 4 Mike Howard
  • 5 Mark A. Flanagan
  • 6 Harry Ronald Wells
  • 7 Joshua Richard Buggea
  • 8 Paul Edney Tupai
  • 9 Henry William V. Taylor
  • 10 Jake Andrew T. Sharp
  • 11 Dean Nicholas Adamson
  • 12 Thomas Meredith Griffiths
  • 13 Michael D. le Bourgeois
  • 14 George Daniel Perkins
  • 15 Steffan Wynne Jones


  • 16 Jacob Fields
  • 17 James John Currie
  • 18 Thomas James Williams
  • 19 Sebastian Michael Nagle-Taylor
  • 20 Jordan Samuel Burns
  • 21 Myles A. Dorrian
  • 22 Henry Matthew Staff

Bristol Rugby

  • 1 Jack James O'Connell
  • 2 Peter Ross McMillan
  • 3 Anthony Isaac Perenise
  • 4 Ian Richard Evans
  • 5 Benjamin Edward Glynn
  • 6 Marco Yanda Nason Mama
  • 7 Oliver James Robinson
  • 8 James Montague Phillips
  • 9 William Peter Samuel Cliff
  • 10 Callum Michael Sheedy
  • 11 David Lemi
  • 12 Ben Charles G. Mosses
  • 13 Jack Terence Tovey
  • 14 Jack Edward Wallace
  • 15 Luke Arscott


  • 16 Christopher Leslie Brooker
  • 17 Kyle Traynor
  • 18 Rodrigo Gaston Cortes
  • 19 Mark Richard Sorenson
  • 20 Ralph Nicholas Koster
  • 21 Martin Roberts
  • 22 Matthew James Morgan

Bristol Rugby will take a twenty-nine point lead into the second leg of the semi final after a 45-16 victory over Bedford Blues.

The visitors scored six tries at Goldington Road as James Phillips (2), Olly Robinson, Jack Tovey, Ross McMillan and Jack Wallace all crossed in an assured display.

After James Phillips went close in the opening five minutes, Bristol took the lead when Olly Robinson rumbled over from the back of a driving lineout for the opening score of the game.

Bedford hit back midway through the first period when Charlie Clare cantered over the corner, before Jake Sharp converted from the angle.

It was the home side that enjoyed the lion’s share of possession during a frenetic first period and Jake Sharp’s long-range penalty – ten minutes before the interval - put Bedford 10-7 ahead.

Callum Sheedy converted a penalty to draw Bristol level, before James Phillips muscled his way across the whitewash for an unconverted try.

Charlie Clare saw yellow before half-time and Ross McMillan took full advantage, crashing over for a third Bristol touch down.

Andy Robinson’s men started the second half brightly and added a fourth score of the afternoon when Jack Wallace capitalized on a James Phillips solo break to race in under the posts, while Sheedy added the extras.

Jake Sharp’s penalty goal reduced arrears, before Jack O’Connell had a try ruled out for an adjudged forward pass in the build up.

Sharp added another three-pointer to put his side within thirteen points at 16-27.

With ten minutes remaining, a destructive set-piece – led by Cortes and Traynor - helped James Phillips drop over the line for his second of the afternoon.

And, before the full-time whistle, Callum Sheedy’s penalty goal and a close-range Jack Tovey effort gave Bristol a commanding lead going into the second leg at Ashton Gate.

Bedford Blues:

Steffan Jones; George Perkins, Michael LeBourgeois (c), Tom Griffiths, Dean Adamson; Jake Sharp, Henry Taylor; Camilo Parilli-Ocampo, Charlie Clare, Phil Boulton, Mike Howard, Mark Flanagan, Harry Wells, Josh Buggea, Paul Tupai.
Replacements: Jacob Fields (for Charlie Clare, 64 mins), James Currie (for Phil Boulton, 65 mins), Tom Williams (for Camilo Parilli-Ocampo, 47 mins), Seb Nagle-Taylor (for Paul Tupai, 70 mins), Jordan Burns (for Henry Taylor, 67 mins), Myles Dorrian (for Jake Sharp, 67 mins), Henry Staff (for Tom Griffiths, 25 mins).

Bristol Rugby:

Luke Arscott; Jack Wallace, Jack Tovey, Ben Mosses, David Lemi (c); Callum Sheedy, Will Cliff; Jack O’Connell, Ross McMillan, Anthony Perenise, Ian Evans, Ben Glynn, Marco Mama, Olly Robinson, James Phillips.

Replacements: Chris Brooker (for Ross McMillan, 63 mins), Kyle Traynor (for Jack O’Connell, 64 mins), Gaston Cortes (for Anthony Perenise, 48 mins), Mark Sorenson (for Ian Evans, 64 mins), Nick Koster (for Olly Robinson, 35 mins), Martin Roberts (for Will Cliff, 80 mins), Matthew Morgan (for Luke Arscott, 80 mins).


Referee: Luke Pearce

Latest News



Posted: Friday, August 12th 2022

Gallery: Bears Launch 22/23 Home Shirt

Gallery: Bears Launch 22/23 Home Shirt

Posted: Friday, August 12th 2022

Matchday mascot for Bath season opener

Matchday mascot for Bath season opener

Posted: Friday, August 12th 2022

Bristol Bears Launch Project Whitebeam

Bristol Bears Launch Project Whitebeam

Posted: Thursday, August 11th 2022