Banner image

REPORT: Bristol Rugby 32-34 Doncaster Knights

Match Report

Wednesday, May 25th 2016

The Championship

Bristol Rugby 32 - 34 Doncaster*

HT 16-10

Phillips, Cliff Tries Stedman, Lewis, Hurrell, Jarvis, Maka'afi
Sheedy (2) Conversions Heaney, Cusack, Flockhart
Sheedy (6) Penalties Cusack

KO: 7:45PM

Att: 16084

Venue: Ashton Gate

Ref: Matthew Carley


Bristol Rugby

  • 1 Jack James O'Connell
  • 2 Peter Ross McMillan
  • 3 Anthony Isaac Perenise
  • 4 Ian Richard Evans
  • 5 Benjamin Edward Glynn
  • 6 Marco Yanda Nason Mama
  • 7 Jack Tafa Lam
  • 8 James Montague Phillips
  • 9 William Peter Samuel Cliff
  • 10 Callum Michael Sheedy
  • 11 David Lemi
  • 12 Ben Charles G. Mosses
  • 13 Jack Terence Tovey
  • 14 Jack Edward Wallace
  • 15 Luke Arscott


  • 16 Christopher Leslie Brooker
  • 17 Kyle Traynor
  • 18 Rodrigo Gaston Cortes
  • 19 Mark Richard Sorenson
  • 20 Oliver James Robinson
  • 21 Martin Roberts
  • 22 Matthew James Morgan


  • 1 Richard James List
  • 2 Ben Hunter
  • 3 Colin Quigley
  • 4 Matthew Edward Challinor
  • 5 Jonathan Phelan
  • 6 Alexander Paul Shaw
  • 7 Michael John Hills
  • 8 Oliver John Stedman
  • 9 Michael S. Heaney
  • 10 Declan Cusack
  • 11 Tyson Nyle H. Lewis
  • 12 William Harry Hurrell
  • 13 David Matthew Clark
  • 14 Ratu Andrew K. Bulumakau
  • 15 Paul David P. Jarvis


  • 16 Viliame Veikoso
  • 17 Joseph Sproston
  • 18 Willgriff John
  • 19 Glen John Young
  • 20 Latu Maka'afi
  • 21 Douglas W. Flockhart
  • 22 Bradley Lloyd Field

Bristol Rugby sealed promotion to the Aviva Premiership with a 60-47 aggregate win (32-34 loss on the night) over Doncaster Knights.

Callum Sheedy broke the deadlock with an early penalty goal, but Declan Cusack levelled proceedings with a three pointer of his own.

David Lemi came within a whisker of the opening try of the evening when the skipper was bundled into touch close to the line, as both sides played out a tense opening forty.

On the half hour mark, Cusack missed a penalty attempt, while Callum Sheedy found the target at the opposite end to edge Bristol ahead.

The Academy fly half landed another three pointer before the interval to put the home side 9-3 up.

But Doncaster regained the advantage when Will Hurrell crashed his way under the posts for a converted try.

Bristol had the final say of a pulsating first period as Will Cliff capitalised on a charge down to touch down in front of a rapturous home crowd.

Mat Clark had a try ruled out for obstruction soon after the restart, before Sheedy settled any second half nerves with his fourth penalty goal of the evening.

After Richard List was yellow carded, Sheedy showed a cool head to land another three pointer and put the home side in control of the tie.

The hugely impressive fly half kicked a further penalty goal, but Doncaster hit back immediately with an individual try as Paul Jarvis wriggled his way over.

Ben Mosses saw yellow as the visitors found some ascendancy in attack and Bristol were made to pay for their indiscipline as Tyson Lewis raced over in the corner for an unconverted score.

And the visitors went back in front as Ollie Stedman found space to dab down in the corner and put Doncaster 25-27 ahead.

But with five minutes remaining, James Phillips nudged over the line to send the Bristol supporters into raptures and despite a late Doncaster converted score to win the tie on the night, the hosts sealed promotion back to the top flight.

Bristol Rugby:

Luke Arscott; Jack Wallace, Jack Tovey, Ben Mosses, David Lemi (c); Callum Sheedy, Will Cliff; Jack O’Connell, Ross McMillan, Anthony Perenise, Ian Evans, Ben Glynn, Marco Mama, Jack Lam, James Phillips.

Replacements: Chris Brooker (for Ross McMillan, 50 mins), Kyle Traynor (for Jack O’Connell, 40 mins), Gaston Cortes (for Anthony Perenise, 51 mins), Mark Sorenson (for Olly Robinson, 61 mins), Olly Robinson (for Jack Lam, 34 mins), Martin Roberts, Matthew Morgan (for Jack Tovey, 29 mins).

Doncaster Knights:

Paul Jarvis; Andy Bulumakau, Mat Clark, Will Hurrell, Tyson Lewis; Dec Cusack, Michael Heaney; Richard List, Ben Hunter, Colin Quigley, Matt Challinor, Jon Phelan, Alex Shaw, Michael Hills (c), Ollie Stedman.

Replacements: Vili Veikoso (for Ben Hunter, 55 mins), Joe Sproston (for Richard List, 68 mins), WillGriff John (for Colin Quigley, 58 mins), Glen Young (for Jon Phelan, 51 mins), Latu Makaafi (for Alex Shaw, 51 mins), Dougie Flockhart (for Andy Bulumakau, 61 mins), Brad Field (for Declan Cusack, 47 mins).

Referee: Matthew Carley

Man of the Match: Callum Sheedy

Attendance: 16,084


Latest News



Posted: Friday, August 12th 2022

Gallery: Bears Launch 22/23 Home Shirt

Gallery: Bears Launch 22/23 Home Shirt

Posted: Friday, August 12th 2022

Matchday mascot for Bath season opener

Matchday mascot for Bath season opener

Posted: Friday, August 12th 2022

Bristol Bears Launch Project Whitebeam

Bristol Bears Launch Project Whitebeam

Posted: Thursday, August 11th 2022