Banner image

REPORT: Bristol Rugby 45-19 Bedford Blues

Match Report

Sunday, May 8th 2016

The Championship

Bristol Rugby 45 - 19 Bedford Blues*

HT 31-19

Koster, Roberts (2), Mosses, Varndell, Uren Tries Tupai, Adamson
Sheedy (6) Conversions Sharp (2)
Sheedy Penalties

KO: 3:15PM

Att: 12030

Venue: Ashton Gate

Ref: Dean Richards


Bristol Rugby

  • 1 Jack James O'Connell
  • 2 Peter Ross McMillan
  • 3 Anthony Isaac Perenise
  • 4 Ian Richard Evans
  • 5 Benjamin Edward Glynn
  • 6 Ralph Nicholas Koster
  • 7 Jack Tafa Lam
  • 8 James Montague Phillips
  • 9 Martin Roberts
  • 10 Callum Michael Sheedy
  • 11 David Lemi
  • 12 Ben Charles G. Mosses
  • 13 Gareth Maule
  • 14 Thomas William Varndell
  • 15 Luke Arscott


  • 16 Christopher Leslie Brooker
  • 17 Kyle Traynor
  • 18 Jamal Michael Ford-Robinson
  • 19 Joseph John Joyce
  • 20 Andrew William Uren
  • 21 Nicholas David Carpenter
  • 22 Matthew James Morgan

Bedford Blues

  • 1 Camilo E. Parilli-Ocampo
  • 2 Charles William Bernard Clare
  • 3 Philip Matthew J. Boulton
  • 4 Mike Howard
  • 5 Mark A. Flanagan
  • 6 Joshua Richard Buggea
  • 7 Sebastian Michael Nagle-Taylor
  • 8 Paul Edney Tupai
  • 9 Henry William V. Taylor
  • 10 Jake Andrew T. Sharp
  • 11 Dean Nicholas Adamson
  • 12 Oliver Paul Dodge
  • 13 Michael D. le Bourgeois
  • 14 George Daniel Perkins
  • 15 Steffan Wynne Jones


  • 16 Jacob Fields
  • 17 Akinbiyi Olabamigbe O.O. Alo
  • 18 Alexander John Lundberg
  • 19 Harry Ronald Wells
  • 20 Jordan Samuel Burns
  • 21 Myles A. Dorrian
  • 22 Patrick Charles Tapley

Bristol Rugby booked their place in the Championship final with a 45-19 victory over Bedford Blues on Sunday.

In front of a league record attendance of 12,030, the hosts scored six tries. Martin Roberts grabbed a double, while Nick Koster, Tom Varndell, Ben Mosses and Andy Uren all crossed to seal a two-legged final versus Doncaster Knights.

Bedford could have been ahead inside the opening minute when Josh Buggea thought he’d scored, only for the try to be ruled out by referee Dean Richards.

Instead, the home side stretched their aggregate lead when Martin Roberts ghosted between two defenders to dab down for a converted try.

And Bristol added a second try moments later as Nick Koster and David Lemi combined for the flanker to slide over and double Bristol’s advantage.

Callum Sheedy and Nick Koster were yellow carded in quick succession for professional fouls to reduce Bristol to thirteen men and the visitors seized the initiative, rumbling over for a penalty try.

Bedford leveled proceedings midway through the first period as Dean Adamson latched onto Paul Tupai’s offload to race over the whitewash.

Despite being stung by a numerical disadvantage, patient attacking play saw Martin Roberts dart over for his second of the afternoon and edge the hosts back ahead.

A Callum Sheedy penalty miss followed during a breathless first half, before Ben Mosses grabbed a fourth try when the centre found space to fly over from close-range.

Bristol had a score ruled out after the ball was adjudged to have been held up under a heap of bodies, while Sheedy notched a three pointer to keep the scoreboard ticking over.

And Paul Tupai crashed over from a metre on the stroke of half-time to keep Bedford in touching distance at the interval.

Andy Robinson rang the changes with six changes before the second period, but his side were, once again, reduced to fourteen men when Luke Arscott saw yellow before the hour mark.

It wasn’t until the closing stages that Bristol Rugby completed the rout as Tom Varndell and Andy Uren touched down to seal a memorable victory at Ashton Gate.

Bristol Rugby:

Luke Arscott; Jack Wallace, Gareth Maule, Ben Mosses, David Lemi (c); Callum Sheedy, Martin Roberts; Jack O’Connell, Ross McMillan, Anthony Perenise, Ian Evans, Ben Glynn, Nick Koster, Jack Lam, James Phillips.

Replacements: Chris Brooker (for Ross McMillan, 40 mins), Kyle Traynor (for Jack O’Connell, 40 mins), Jamal Ford-Robinson (for Anthony Perenise, 41 mins), Joe Joyce (for Jack Lam, 40 mins), Andy Uren (for Martin Roberts, 69 mins), Nick Carpenter (for Gareth Maule, 40 mins), Matthew Morgan (for David Lemi, 40 mins).

Bedford Blues:

Steffan Jones; George Perkins, Michael LeBourgeois (c), Ollie Dodge, Dean Adamson; Jake Sharp, Henry Taylor; Camilo Parilli-Ocampo, Charlie Clare, Phil Boulton, Mike Howard, Mark Flanagan, Josh Buggea, Seb Nagle-Taylor, Paul Tupai.

Replacements: Jacob Fields (for Charlie Clare, 65 mins), Biyi Alo (for Camilo Parilli-Ocampo, 64 mins), Alex Lundberg (for Phil Boulton, 64 mins), Harry Wells (for Josh Buggea, 53 mins), Jordan Burns (for Henry Taylor, 63 mins), Myles Dorrian (for Jake Sharp, 63 mins), Pat Tapley (for Steffan Jones, 59 mins).

Referee: Dean Richards

Man of the Match: Martin Roberts

Attendance: 12,030


Latest News



Posted: Friday, August 12th 2022

Gallery: Bears Launch 22/23 Home Shirt

Gallery: Bears Launch 22/23 Home Shirt

Posted: Friday, August 12th 2022

Matchday mascot for Bath season opener

Matchday mascot for Bath season opener

Posted: Friday, August 12th 2022

Bristol Bears Launch Project Whitebeam

Bristol Bears Launch Project Whitebeam

Posted: Thursday, August 11th 2022