Banner image

REPORT: Harlequins 30-21 Bristol United

Bristol United suffered a 30-21 defeat at the hands of Harlequins on Monday evening.

George Watkins, Max Crumpton and Elias Caven touched down in a fiercely contested contest in the Aviva A-League.

Tim Swiel stroked over a penalty inside five minutes as Harlequins raced into the lead and – after Bath University’s Jack Davies was sin-binned – the home side scored the opening try of the evening.

It was Ross Chisholm who touched down, collecting an inside pass to slide over from close range.

Bristol United reduced arrears to 10-7 when George Watkins showed blistering acceleration to burst through the midfield and slide over in style for a converted try.

The visitors probed for a second score shortly after, but when Benvenuti spilled possession, Quins launched a length of the field counter, which Tim Swiel finished off from forty metres.

And Ben Botica danced his way over the whitewash from close-range to give the hosts a 22-7 advantage at the half-time break.

Despite controlling the possession in the second half, Bristol couldn’t puncture a well-organised Harlequins defence and, instead, it was the home side that stretched their lead as Victor Keunen dabbed down from a driving lineout.

United were rewarded for their endeavour, however, when Max Crumpton barged his way over for a converted try with twenty minutes remaining.

Bristol continued to pile on the pressure and reduced the deficit to six points as Elias Caven was on hand to slide over following good work from Auguy Slowik.

Replacement Luke White’s penalty goal ensured Quins played the final quarter with a nine-point advantage, before Sheedy saw his own attempt at a three pointer ricochet off the upright.

Bristol United searched in vain for a losing bonus point in the closing stages, but it wasn’t to be as Quins held out for the 30-21 win.


Tim Swiel; Henry Cheeseman, Matt Hopper (c), Winston Stanley, Ross Chisholm; Ben Botica, Tito Tebaldi; Owen Evans, Seb Adeniran-Olule, Will Collier, George Merrick, Kieran Treadwell, Stan South, Victor Keunan, Archie White.

Replacements: Mofe Wilkey, Theo Buffini, Matt Shields, Charlie Matthews, Dino Lamb-Cona, Calum Waters, Luke White, Sam Aspland-Robinson.

Bristol United:

Auguy Slowik; Ryan Edwards, George Watkins, Tommaso Benvenuti, Charlie Amesbury; Callum Sheedy, Andy Uren; Ellis Genge, Ross McMillan (c), Jamal Ford-Robinson, John Hawkins, Max Cresswell, Josh Ovens, Max Crumpton, Jack Davies (Bath Uni).

Replacements: Ben Gompels (Clifton RFC), Jordan Brodley (Clifton RFC), Louis Wolf (Clifton RFC), John Humphrys (Cardiff Met Uni), Rich Stephens (Old Reds), Darren Hudson, Elias Caven.