Banner image

Report: Harlequins 73-14 Bristol United

Bristol United suffered a third straight defeat in the A-League, going down 73-14 to Harlequins on Monday night.

The visitors conceded eleven tries in a one-sided affair, with Jordon Liney and Alex Giltrow posting Bristol’s consolation scores at the Stoop.

Josh Ibuanokpe (2), Dylan Flashman, Max Coyle, Ian Prior, Gabriel Ibitoye (2), Cadan Murley, Conrad Burne, Ross Chisholm and Mike Mayhew all went over for rampant Harlequins.

What happened?

On a chilly night in West London, it was the home side who raced into an early lead courtesy of Josh Ibuanokpe’s close-range effort.

Jordon Liney responded from the driving lineout shortly after, but Ibuanokpe’s second of the evening – followed by a Dylan Flashman effort – saw Bristol United trail 21-7 midway through the first period.

Max Coyle’s stylish finish stretched Quins further ahead, before Alex Giltrow powered his way across the whitewash to keep the visitors in touch at 26-14 at the interval.

But Harlequins began the second half in blistering fashion, dotting down for two tries inside five minutes.

James Newey on the attack for Bristol United (JMP UK).

First, Ian Prior capitalized on space to slide over the chalk, then – after a spell of Bristol pressure – Gabriel Ibitoye scooped up a loose pass to run in untouched from seventy metres.

The unrelenting Quins pressure continued as Cadan Murley skipped over for the hosts’ seventh try of the evening.

Gabriel Ibitoye danced his way between the posts as Harlequins continued to dominate the second forty, while replacement Conrad Burne touched down late in the game as United began to tire.

In the closing stages, Ross Chisholm and Mike Mayhew added scores as Harlequins racked up eleven tries in a 73-14 win at the Stoop.

Key moment:

Bristol United trailed 26-14 at the break, but a slow start to the second period - conceding two tries in quick succession - saw the visitors chasing the game and ultimately exposed by a ruthless Harlequins attacking force.

Photo of the match:

The steam rises off the forwards at the Stoop (JMP UK).



15. Ross Chisholm; 14. Max Coyle, 13. Cadan Murley, 12. Henry Cheeseman, 11. Gabriel Ibitoye; 10. Ian Prior, 9. Jono Kitto (c); 1. Cameron Holenstein, 2. Mike Mayhew, 3. Josh Ibuanokpe, 4. Dylan Flashman, 5. Dino Lamb, 6. Charlie Piper, 7. Jack Glover, 8. Archie White.

Replacements: 16. George Head, 17. Mark Lambert, 18. Josh McNulty, 19. Kane Alboni,
20. Daniel Cuthbert, 21. Jake Hennessey, 22. Winston Stanley, 23. Conrad Burne.

Bristol United:

15. George Perkins; 14. Ali Greig (Bristol Uni), 13. Archie Russell (Cambridge Uni), 12. James Newey, 11. Tom Hargan; 10. Sam Leeming (Hartpury), 9. Reiss Cullen; 1. Tom Rowland, 2. Jordon Liney, 3. Alex Giltrow, 4. Giorgi Nemsadze (c), 5. David Hill (Clifton RFC), 6. Dan Thurston, 7. Fergus Manners (Old Colstonians), Ollie Lyons (Bristol Uni).

Replacements: 16. Nick Freeman, 17. Sam Coles (Weston RFC), 18. Nick English, 19. Sam Tiley (Uni of South Wales), 20. Sam Taylor (Hartpury), 21. Ryan Glynn, 21. Joe Burgess (Academy U18s), 23. Marcus Nel (Weston RFC).