Banner image

REPORT: Moseley 28-39 Bristol Rugby

Match Report

Saturday, December 5th 2015

The Championship

Moseley 28 - 39 Bristol Rugby*

HT 0-27

Brightwell (2), Hughes, Collins Tries Eadie, Cliff, Lemi, Varndell, Phillips
Hughes (4) Conversions Henson (4)
Penalties Henson (2)


Att: 993

Venue: Billesley Common

Ref: Matthew O\'Grady



  • 1 Thomas Andrew Fidler
  • 2 Adam Idayward Caves
  • 3 Craig Anthony Voisey
  • 4 Gregory Frank Charlton
  • 5 Aaron Flagg
  • 6 Edward David Siggery
  • 7 Alexander Buster Lawrence
  • 8 Christopher A.T. Brightwell
  • 9 Sam Douglas Brown
  • 10 Glyn John Hughes
  • 11 Thomas George P. Collins
  • 12 Timothy Stanley Molenaar
  • 13 Gregory Stanley J. King
  • 14 Drew Cheshire
  • 15 Charles Thomas Foley


  • 16 Thomas James Warren
  • 17 Scott William Tolmie
  • 18 Simon Gardiner
  • 19 William Keenan
  • 20 Harry David Hone
  • 21 Arron Phillip W. Pinches
  • 22 David James Brazier

Bristol Rugby

  • 1 Jack James O'Connell
  • 2 Geraint Marc Jones
  • 3 Anthony Isaac Perenise
  • 4 Joseph John Joyce
  • 5 Mark Richard Sorenson
  • 6 Ralph Nicholas Koster
  • 7 Jack Tafa Lam
  • 8 Mitchell William Eadie
  • 9 William Peter Samuel Cliff
  • 10 Matthew James Morgan
  • 11 David Lemi
  • 12 Gavin Lloyd Henson
  • 13 Jack Terence Tovey
  • 14 Thomas William Varndell
  • 15 Jack Edward Wallace


  • 16 Peter Ross McMillan
  • 17 Rodrigo Gaston Cortes
  • 18 Glen Christian Townson
  • 19 James Montague Phillips
  • 20 Craig J. Hampson
  • 21 Adrian Thomas Jarvis
  • 22 Ben Charles G. Mosses

Bristol Rugby clinched a bonus point 39-28 victory over Moseley on Saturday.

In blustery conditions at Billesley Common, the visitors scored five tries as David Lemi, Tom Varndell, Mitch Eadie, Will Cliff and James Phillips all touched down.

Bristol raced into an early lead courtesy of skipper David Lemi, who beat three defenders to touch down for a stunning solo effort.

Gavin Henson’s penalty goal extend Bristol’s advantage to 0-10, before Tom Varndell finished off a patient attacking move to dab down over the whitewash for a converted try.

Another Henson three-pointer moved the visitors twenty points ahead, before Bristol were forced to defend until the end of the first period. Despite Glyn Hughes going close, Moseley couldn’t find a crack in a solid blue and white defence.

On the stroke of half time, Mitch Eadie marked his one-hundredth competitive appearance with a try, collecting Matthew Morgan’s long pass to accelerate over for a third score of the afternoon.

Moseley started the second half brightly and got on the scoresheet almost immediately as the ever-threatening Glyn Hughes ghosted through the midfield to slide over.

But Bristol responded through Will Cliff, who spotted a gap inside the 22 and scampered over for the bonus point. Henson’s conversion moved the visitors into a 7-34 lead.

Despite Craig Voisey being sin-binned, it was Moseley who were next to cross in a pulsating affair, as Tom Collins pounced on a loose ball to kick ahead and slide over.

Chris Brightwell added a third for resurgent Moseley who looked as though they might launch a comeback, but replacement back rower James Phillips dropped over from close range to quell any Bristol concerns.

Skipper Brightwell did burrow over in the final play of the game to hand the hosts a losing bonus point, but it was too little, too late as Bristol secured the away-day victory.


Charlie Foley; Drew Cheshire, Greg King, Tim Molenaar, Tom Collins; Glyn Hughes, Sam Brown; Tom Fidler, Adam Caves, Craig Voisey, Greg Charlton, Aaron Flag, Ed Siggery, Buster Lawrence, Chris Brightwell.

Replacements: Tom Warren (for Craig Voisey, 75 mins), Scott Tolmie (for Adam Caves, 67 mins), Simon Gardiner (for Tom Fidler, 65 mins), Will Keenan (for Greg Charlton, 79 mins), Harry Hone (for Ed Siggery, 65 mins), Aaron Pinches (for Tim Molenaar, 56 mins), David Brazier (for Sam Brown, 67 mins).

Bristol Rugby:

Jack Wallace; Tom Varndell, Jack Tovey, Gavin Henson, David Lemi (c); Matthew Morgan, Will Cliff; Jack O’Connell, Marc Jones, Anthony Perenise, Joe Joyce, Mark Sorenson, Nick Koster, Jack Lam, Mitch Eadie.

Replacements: Ross McMillan (for Marc Jones, 52 mins), Gaston Cortes (for Anthony Perenise, 40 mins), Glen Townson (for Joe Joyce, 62 mins), James Phillips (for Mitch Eadie, 62 mins), Craig Hampson, Adrian Jarvis (for Jack Tovey, 65 mins), Ben Mosses (for Tom Varndell, 28 mins).

Referee: Matthew O’Grady

Latest News

Lam announces squad for Brive trip

Lam announces squad for Brive trip

Posted: Thursday, August 18th 2022

Defining Derby Moments: Bears vs Bath

Defining Derby Moments: Bears vs Bath

Posted: Thursday, August 18th 2022

Bears to get season underway at Ashton Gate

Bears to get season underway at Ashton Gate

Posted: Wednesday, August 17th 2022

AJ MacGinty checks into Bear Country

AJ MacGinty checks into Bear Country

Posted: Wednesday, August 17th 2022