Banner image

REPORT: Oxford University 7 - 35 Bristol United

Bristol United cruised to a comfortable 35-7 victory over Oxford University at Iffley Road on Monday night.

United ran in five tries courtesy of Rob Hawkins (2), Rayn Smid, Auguy Slowik and a penalty try, while James Newey kicked all five conversions to finish with a 100% record.

In driving rain, errors dominated the early exchanges, before United number eight Rayn Smid burst his way through the Blues defence to touch down and open the scoring on 16 minutes, with James Newey adding the extras from straight in front.

The centre was at it again 15 minutes later, slotting a second conversion after hooker Rob Hawkins had bundled over at the back of a driving maul.

In closing stages of the first-half, Forbes’ pinpoint crossfield kick found Robbie Smith in space, but the winger was unable to cling on with the line at his mercy.

Leading 14-0 at the interval, United soon had their third of the evening early in the second-half when, from another driving maul, Hawkins grabbed his second with Newey once again adding the extras.

United were using the maul to good effect and from another such effort, they were awarded a penalty try after the hosts were unable to halt it legally. Newey’s conversion gave United a 28-0 lead on the hour mark.

Auguy Slowik scythed through a scrambling Oxford defence to score United’s fifth on 70 minutes, with Newey’s conversion extending the lead to 35-0.

Oxford grabbed a consolation the final play of the game, when Fergus Taylor powered over from close range, with Basil Strang converting.

Bristol United: Auguy Slowik; Robbie Smith (Cardiff Met Uni), Gareth Maule (c), James Newey, Rhys Tudor (Hartpury); Robbie Forbes (Hartpury), Josh Barton (Millfield); Ollie Dawe, Rob Hawkins, James Hall, Giorgi Nemsadze, John Hawkins, BJ Edwards, Jack Capon, Rayn Smid.

Replacements: Alex Harvey (Old Reds), Scott Parsons (Old Reds), Sam Taylor (Academy U18s), Dan Thurston (Academy U18s), Kean Gannaway (Academy U18s), Alex Haynes (Old Colstonians), Iwan Hughes (Academy U18s), Finn Murphy (Cleve RFC).