Banner image

Report: Saracens Storm 49-24 Bristol United

Bristol United conceded thirty-five unanswered points in the second half to go down 49-24 to Saracens Storm on Saturday.

In a high scoring affair at Allianz Park, tries from Tom Varndell, Sam Graham and Aaron Chapman had given Bristol United a narrow half-time lead, but a blistering second forty minutes ensured it was Saracens who came away with the spoils.

Skipper Ben Earl, Titi Lamositele, Tadgh McElroy, Rotimi Segun, Nick Tompkins, Sean Reffell, and an individual effort from substitute Ali Crossdale secured maximum points for Storm.

What happened?

Ben Earls went over early on for a converted score, before Bristol hit back through Tom Varndell’s powerful finish.

Sarries responded when Titi Lamositele barrelled his way over, while Malins kicked the conversion to give his side a 14-7 break after 26 minutes.

Sam Graham crossed to level proceedings in an entertaining first period, before Callum Sheedy’s penalty on the half hour edged United in front.

Then, on the stroke of half-time, Bristol were in again when wing Aaron Chapman showed his promise with a sublime solo finish.

Ehize Ehizode makes a tackle as Saracens launch an attack (JMP UK)

In a one-sided second half, Tadgh McElory kicked off the second-half procession, burrowing over for his second try in as many games, six minutes after the break.

Rotimi Segun was next to go over, capitalising on a defensive error to race across the whitewash. Nick Tompkins ran in a fine individual try, before replacement Sean Reffell touched down on the hour mark.

Replacement wing Ali Crossdale showed blistering pace to round off proceedings and condemn United to A-League defeat.

Key moment:

Bristol United led at the interval, but a blistering spell in the second period - when Rotimi Segun, Nick Tompkins and Sean Reffell posted scores - left the visitors with a mountain to climb at Allianz Park.

Photo of the match:

Bristol United forced to defend for long periods of second half (JMP UK)


Saracens Storm: 

15 Matt Gallagher; 14 Mike Ellery, 13 Nick Tompkins), 12 Rueben Bird-Tulloch, 11 Rotimi Segun; 10 Max Malins, 9 Tom Whiteley; 1 Titi Lamositele, 2 Tadgh McElroy, 3 Kieran Longbottom, 4 Danny Cutmore, 5 Mark Flanagan, 6 Jack Nay, 7 Joel Conlon, 8 Ben Earl.

Replacements: 16 Kapeli Pifileti (Haileybury College), 17 Hayden Thompson-Stringer 18 Fakaosi Pifileti, 19 John Kpoku (Oaklands College), 20 Sean Reffell, 21 Al Gliksten, 22 Oli Morris, 23 Ali Crossdale

Bristol United:

15. Ryan Edwards; 14. Aaron Chapman, 13. Jack Wallace (c), 12. Jack Tovey, 11. Tom Varndell; 10. Callum Sheedy, 9. Reiss Cullen; 1. Jack Cosgrove, 2. Nick Fenton-Wells, 3. Ollie Dawe, 4. Joe Batley, 5. Ehize Ehizode, 6. James Dun, 7. Jack Capon, 8. Sam Graham (Massey RFC).

Replacements: 16. Nick Freeman, 17. Jack O’Connell, 18. Alex Giltrow, 19. Sam Tiley (University of South Wales), 20. Sam Taylor (Hartpury BUCs) 21. Ryan Glynn, 22. Iwan Hughes, 23. Tom Hargan.