Banner image


Will Carpenter


Posted Sunday, December 30th 2018

Report: Saracens Storm 50-14 Bristol Bears 'A'

Bristol Bears ‘A’ fell to a 50-14 defeat at the hands of Saracens Storm in the Premiership Shield on Sunday.

Tusi Pisi and Sam Bedlow both crossed in the first-half, but were cancelled out by Rotimi Segun and Dominic Morris, with a Max Malins penalty giving the hosts a 17-14 lead at the break.

But Saracens pulled away in the second-half, with Malins, Segun, Reffell and a late double from replacement hooker, Joe Gray sealing a commanding win.

What happened?

Regun opened the scoring for Saracens on 10 minutes after neat work from Gallagher and Vailanu in the build-up.

Bristol hit back when Pisi capitalised on Tovey’s break to step his way to the line.

Bedlow glided through a gap in the Saracens defence for Bristol’s second eight minutes later, before Morris crashed over from close range to level the scores.

Luke Daniels takes on the Saracens Storm defence (Photo via Matt Impey).

Malins added a penalty to edge Saracens in front on the stroke of half-time, and the fly-half sprinted in from 35 metres early in the second half to extend the home side’s lead.

Segun scored his second shortly after, before Reffell’s interception made it 36-14 on the hour mark.

Replacement Joe Gray’s late brace took Saracens to 50 points, to complete a commanding second-half display.

The teams:

Bristol Bears 'A': 15. Luke Daniels; 14. Reiss Cullen, 13. Jack Tovey, 12. Tusi Pisi (c), 11. Charlie Powell, 10. Sam Bedlow, 9. Nic Stirzaker; 1. Jordan Lay, 2. George Kloska, 3. James Lay, 4. Ehize Ehizode, 5. John Hawkins, 6. Sam Graham, 7. Jack Capon, 8. Nick Haining.
Replacements: 16. Charlie Brabham, 17. Ollie Dawe, 18. Sione Faletau, 19. Dan Thurston, 20. George Harding, 21. Jack Bates, 22. Nathan Chamberlain, 23. Matt Welsh.

Saracens Storm: 15. Matt Gallagher, 14. Ali Crossdle, 13. Dom Morris, 12. Tom Griffiths, 11. Ali Crossdale, 10. Max Malins, 9. Henry Taylor; 1. Ralph Adams-Hale, 2. Christopher Tolofua, 3. Billy Walker, 4. Jack Nay, 5. Joel Kpoku, 6. Anthony Maka (Guest Player), 7. Sean Reffell, 8. Sione Vailanu.
Replacements: 16. Joe Gray, 17. Sam Crean, 18. Guest Player, 19. Cameron Boon, 20. Tobias Munday, 21. Tom Whiteley, 22. Manu Vunipola, 23. Charlie Watson.

Bristol Bears ‘A’: Tries: Pisi 16, Bedlow 24. Cons: Bedlow 16, 24

Saracens Storm: Tries: Segun 10, 57 Morris 27, Malins 50, Reffell 59, Gray 70, 79. Cons: Malins 10, 27, 50, 59, 79. Pens: Malins 40