Banner image

Rowland and Capon to take on South Africa Schools

Bristol Rugby Academy duo Tom Rowland and Will Capon have been named in the starting line-up for England U18’s clash with South Africa Schools at City Park, Athlone (1pm BST) on Saturday.

The pair, who came on as second half substitutes during Tuesday’s 14-12 defeat to Wales, return to John Fletcher’s side for the third match of the ‘U19 International Series’.

Capon bagged two tries against Wales to take his tour tally to three.

“I want to see the team play like they have trained this week,” said England U18 coach Russell Earnshaw.

“It’s been a good couple of weeks, a great learning experience for the players and coaches and we want to see that transferred onto the pitch. I want to see them enjoy the experience."


"It’s a great challenge, South Africa are physical, playing at home and will raise their game to play England."

Russell Earnshaw, England U18 coach

“Last year was a really physical game so this year we’ll try and exceed their physicality.”

“One of the purposes of the tour is for young players to come and play South Africa in South Africa. It’s a great challenge, South Africa are physical, playing at home and will raise their game to play England.

“I think it will be an awesome environment for the lads to play in and we want them to play with passion and to enjoy themselves.”

England XV to face South Africa Schools: Ollie Hassell-Collins (London Irish, St Paul’s School), Arron Reed (Sale Sharks, Kirkham Grammar School), Cadan Murley (Harlequins, Bishop Wordsworth's School), Fraser Dingwall (Northampton Saints, Bedford School), Tom Seabrook (Gloucester Rugby, Dean Close School), Cameron Redpath (Sale Sharks, Sedbergh School), Will Porter (Wasps, Merchant Taylors' School), Tom Rowland (Bristol Rugby, Bristol Grammar School), Will Capon (Bristol Rugby, Bristol Grammar School), Joe Heyes (Leicester Tigers, Wyggeston & QEI College), Josh Basham (London Irish, Wellington College), James Scott (Worcester Warriors, Malvern College), Tom Willis (Wasps, The Henley College), Aaron Hinkley (Gloucester Rugby, St Peter’s High School), Sam Moore (Sale Sharks, Sedbergh School).

Replacements: George Head (Harlequins, Tonbridge School), Beck Cutting (Worcester Warriors, Bromsgrove School), Nick Rigby (Worcester Warriors, Warwick School), Alex Coles (Northampton Saints, The Perse School), Ollie Fox (Yorkshire Carnegie, New College Pontefract), Kieran Wilkinson (Sale Sharks, Kirkham Grammar School), Sam Spink (Wasps, Wellington College), Nick David (Worcester Warriors, Warwick School), Tom de Glanville (Bath Rugby, Beechen Cliff School).