Banner image

Six Bristol Bears Women named in Red Roses U20 squad

Hollie Cunningham will co-captain the Red Roses Under-20s who will face the Army on Saturday, February 9th (2pm). 

Full-back Merryn Doidge will make her Under-20s bow in Saturday’s clash in Aldershot, while Hollie Cunningham will co-captain the side from the second row.

There is a full compliment of front-row from the Bears that will be looking to make an impact on debut when introduced as Charlie Budge, Florence Long and Jess Thomas are named amongst the replacements. 

Fly-half Lucie Skuse is also named in the squad for the fixture that will provide preparation for a trip to face France U20s in March. 

England Women U20 head coach Jo Yapp said: “We are really excited to bring this young team together for their first fixture of the season. It’s always a great test against the Army, a side who are experienced, physical and well organised.

“This year we have a total of 16 players who have been identified through both the TDG programme and the Tyrrells Premier 15s set to make their U20 debut. Playing regularly in the TP15s alongside senior internationals has really accelerated their development.

“This is a talented group and we are looking forward to seeing how they step up to the challenge over the next few weeks”

England Women U20 squad in full to face the Army on Saturday, February 9th at the Army Rugby Stadium:

15. Merryn Doidge (Bristol Bears Women/Exeter College), 14. Ellen Ramsbottom (Loughborough Lightning/Loughborough College), 13. Shauna Bennett (Gloucester-Hartpury/Hartpury College), 12. Megan Varley (Worcester Valkyries/Coventry University), 11. Cara Clarke (Worcester Valkyries/University of Bath), 10. Ellie Green (Harlequins Ladies/Reigate Grammar School), 9. Ella Wyrwas (Loughborough Lightning/University of Nottingham); 1. Akina Gondwe (Worcester Valkyries/University of Worcester), 2. Bryony Field (Loughborough Lightning/Loughborough College), 3. Detysha Harper (Firwood Waterloo Ladies/Manchester Metropolitan University), 4. Anya Richmond (Loughborough Lightning/ Loughborough College), 5. Hollie Cunnigham (Bristol Bears Women/Exeter University), 6. Eleanor Febrey (Gloucester-Hartpury/Hartpury College), 7. Amelia Harper (Loughborough Lightning/ Loughborough College), 8. Cara Brincat (Worcester Valkyries/University of Worcester)

Replacements: 16. Charlie Budge (Bristol Bears Women/ Exeter University), 17. Florence Long (Bristol Bears Women/SGS College Filton), 18. Jessica Thomas (Bristol Bears Women/ Exeter University), 19. Maud Muir (Wasps FC Ladies/n/a), 20. Charlotte Faux (Gloucester-Hartpury/Hartpury College), 21. Megan Davey (Loughborough Lightning/Loughborough University), 22. Lucie Skuse (Bristol Bears Women/n/a), 23. Carys Cox (Worcester Valkyries/Cardiff Metropolitan University)