Banner image

Team News: Bristol Bears U18s vs Newcastle Falcons U18s

Bristol Bears U18s take on Newcastle Falcons U18s in a battle for 5th/6th place on the Premiership Rugby U18s league Finals Day.

Bears, who make this stage of the competition for the first time ever, face Falcons at Sixways Stadium on Sunday, February 16th (3pm KO).

Bristol confirmed their place at Finals Day thanks to a stunning comeback victory over Exeter Chiefs last weekend, securing Gethin Watts' side third place in the Southern Conference.

Following the impressive campaign, a number of homegrown players are expected to be included in the England U18 squad for the development camp at Bisham Abbey on Thursday, February 20th.

In addition, there are a number of players expecting to represent their respective countries including, Ireland, Wales, Scotland and Spain.

Senior Academy Manager, Gethin Watts said: “It’s a great reward for everyone who has contributed to the efforts so far this season, that includes players, schools, clubs and especially the parents and guardians who have supported the players on their journey.

"We have also stressed that this is only part of the journey but it certainly increases the expectation and raises the bar for all involved in future seasons."

Bristol Bears U18s: 

15. Chay Mullins (SGS college); 14. Benjy Joseland (Clifton College), 13. Harry Rowson (Bristol Grammar School), 12. Dylan Power (Colstons School), 11. Ollie Holliday (Hartpury College), 10. Tom Wilstead (Colstons School/Cleve RFC), 9. Calaghan Smith (Millfield School); 1. Andrew Turner (SGS college), 2. Jalen Curry (SGS college), 3. Aaron Thompson (SGS college), 4. George Taylor (Bristol Grammar School), 5. Charlie Rice (SGS college), 6. Fergus Dick (Bristol Grammar School/Old Bristolians RFC), 7. Jamie Collier (c) (SGS college), 8. MacEnzie Duncan (SGS college/Clevedon RFC).

Replacements: 16. Tom Sims (SGS college), 17. George Perry (SGS college), 18. Soloman Taufa (SGS college/Avonmouth RFC), 19. Mason Hughes (Hartpury College), 20. Angus Judkins (Taunton School), 21. Jac Lloyd (Clifton College), 22. Ru Schofield (Wellington School/Winscombe RFC).