Banner image

Tuima earns call-up as four Bristol Ladies set to face Canada in second test

Four Bristol Ladies have been named in the England Women squad for Tuesday’s second test against Canada at Twickenham Stoop (7:45pm KO - live Sky Sports Main Event, Sky Sports Action & Sky Sports Mix).

Amber Reed retains her place in midfield, while Caity Mattinson, Izzy Noel-Smith and the uncapped, Lagi Tuima are all set to feature from the bench.

Head coach Simon Middleton makes eight changes, two positional, in his starting 15 with former Bristol Ladies star, Sarah Hunter set to earn her 100th international cap.

“What we are looking for in tomorrow’s game is consistency of performance,” said Middleton.

“We haven’t made wholesale changes as we want to maintain core stability and that’s been the approach with this particular side.

“We have mixed the forwards a bit more and the backs remain stable, with that we know we will create opportunities to get the younger players on the ball again and give them a chance to shine.

"We said from the outset that we would select a squad that we feel can deliver a winning performance and we are confident this team, can deliver on that.”

Lagi Tuima in action for Bristol Ladies earlier this season (JMP UK).

England Women (*denotes uncapped player): Ellie Kildunne (Gloucester-Hartpury Women’s RFC, 1 cap), Jess Breach (Harlequins Ladies, 1 cap), Rachael Burford (Harlequins Ladies, 73 caps), Amber Reed (Bristol Ladies, 45 caps), Charlotte Clapp (Saracens Women, 10 caps), Katy Daley-Mclean (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks, 92 caps), Leanne Riley (Harlequins Ladies, 14 caps); Rochelle Clark (Wasps FC Ladies, 130 caps), Amy Cokayne (Wasps FC Ladies, 34 caps), Heather Kerr (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks, 11 caps), Catherine O’Donnell* (Loughborough Lightning, uncapped), Tamara Taylor (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks, 110 caps), Jo Brown* (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks, uncapped), Marlie Packer (Saracens Women, 52 caps), Sarah Hunter © (Loughborough Lightning, 99 caps).
Replacements: Lark Davies (Worcester Valkyries, 4 caps), Vickii Cornborough (Harlequins Ladies, 32 caps), Hannah Botterman (Saracens Women, 1 cap),  Abbie Scott (Harlequins Ladies, 22 caps), Izzy Noel-Smith (Bristol Ladies, 36 caps), Caity Mattinson (Bristol Ladies, 1 cap), Zoe Harrison (Saracens Women, 1 cap), Lagi Tuima* (Bristol Ladies, uncapped).

Old Mutual Wealth Series 2017
England 79-5 Canada
Tries: Breach (6), Burford, Dow (2), Cokayne, Packer, Clark, Kildunne
Conversions: Reed (5), Harrison (2)
21st November – Twickenham Stoop (KO 19:45, live Sky Sports Main Event, Sky Sports Action & Sky Sports Mix)
England Women v Canada
Tickets available via
25th November – Twickenham Stadium (KO 17:40, live Sky Sports Arena & Sky Sports